
DISCARDING  

ANSWERS TO PROBLEMS 

 

SLIDE 7/8  Declarer has 6 trump tricks and probably the K♥ and A♣  
   making 11 in total.  On the 3rd and 4th trump, if dummy  
   discards 2 diamonds you should discard the 8♦ because 
   otherwise declarer will be able to establish an extra trick in 
   the suit you discard. 
 
SLIDE 9/10  If declarer plays 5 rounds of trumps without attempting to 
   ruff a spade in dummy, then you know they hold 2 spades 
   only so you can safely discard spades.  You must keep all 
   your clubs to prevent establishment of the 4th round of  
   clubs. 
 
SLIDE 11/12  When declarer ruffs the third spade with the Q♥ you must 
   not overruff.  Discarding promotes your trump holding into 
   2 sure tricks. 
 
SLIDE 13/14  Declarer is known to hold 5 spades so you must keep all 
   your spades to prevent the establishment of the suit.  You 
   must discard a club as you now know partner must have 
   the 9♣ at least. 
 
SLIDE 15/16  You are going to have to come down to 4 cards only and 
   you are threatened with an endplay (being thrown in with 
   the K♦ to lead into the AQ of ♠.  You must discard spades 
   and diamonds to keep the same length as dummy in  
   discard must be the K or Q.  In the 4 card ending, if declarer 
   cashes the A♦ you must unblock – hoping for partner to  
   hold the J♦. 
 
SLIDE 17/18  After the defence has made 4 diamond tricks you switch to 
   the 10♠ and declarer cashes three rounds of spades.  You 
   know (from the bidding) that declarer has 4 hearts so you 
   must not discard one. 
 
SLIDE 19/20  You can afford to discard one club but on the 4th diamond 
   you must discard a spade.  But discarding the 5♠ gives the 
   defence no chance because the suit is now blocked.  You 
   must discard the K♠ (safe because you know partner has 
   the J♠ - check the rule of 11 – if declarer has the J♠, then 
   partner’s spades would be 1098 and they would have led 
   the 10♠.). 
 
 



SLIDE 21/22  You let declarer win the first diamond because you have no 
   sure entry.  Now declarer has 8 top tricks (1♥, 1♦ and 6♣).  
   You can therefore deduce that partner has the A♠   
   (otherwise declarer has 9 tricks).  So you know you are  
   going to have to find 5 discards coming down to 6 cards 
   only.  Which 7 will they be?  If you keep Kx of hearts and a 
   spade you’ll only have 3 winning diamonds left and declarer 
   will therefore have time to set up a spade.  If you discard all 
   your spades, declarer can throw you in with a diamond to 
   lead away from your K♥.  The best chance is to discard 2 
   hearts.  Then declarer will have to guess the position.  Don’t 
   leave it until your last 2 discards to discard the hearts.   
   Your 5 discards (in order) should be something like spade, 
   heart, heart, spade, diamond. 
 
 SLIDE 23/24 Your hearts are all good and you have the A♦ entry.  But  
   you have to find 4 discards.  You can throw 2 diamonds and 
   1 heart but, like the last hand, if you throw a second heart 
   declarer has time to establish a diamond trick.  So you must 
   throw a spade hoping partner has the Q♠.  Don’t throw both 
   spades because then partner is exposed to a finesse. 
 
SLIDE 25/26/27 You have to discard on the 3rd and 4th hearts but discarding 
   2 clubs looks very risky – discarding even one diamond is 
   also risky.  There is nothing much to help you – except your 
   partner.  West can show the club values by suit preference 
   signals.  West has two chances for this.  Firstly, on the 3rd 
   round of spades (when declarer is known to hold a  
   singleton K♠), West has 9,8 and 2 of spades left.  Playing 
   the 2 is a suit preference indication.  Then, when declarer 
   plays off the hearts, even if West has played the 6♥ on the 
   first round to show count, they should then play the lowest 
   to reinforce the suit preference indication.  Now it is easy 
   for East to throw clubs and hold on the J9xx in diamonds. 
 
SLIDE 28/29/30 This is a similar situation to the last.  East has to decide  
   what to discard on the 3rd, 4th  and 5th rounds of trumps.   
   Again, West has two chances to make a suit preference  
   signal.  Firstly, they should play the 8♠ on the first round 
   showing values in the higher suit.  Then, when discarding 
   hearts should discard the 3 before the 2.  Now it is easy for 
   East to hold on to clubs. 
 
SLIDE 31/32  You are not going to beat this contract because surely  
   declarer holds the Aces in hearts and diamonds.  A  
   successful heart finesse will give an 11th trick.  Hold on to 
   your three little hearts because if you discard one. declarer 
   will surely finesse your partner for the Q♥. 
 



SLIDE 33/34  Declarer has 6 trump tricks and probably either the K♥ or 
   the K♣.  Partner has two chances to tell you which.  Firstly 
   by playing the 2♠ on the first trump rather than the 4♠.   
   Secondly, when discarding a diamond from J 10 7, East can 
   choose a low rather than a high diamond.  So you suspect a 
   heart finesse will give declarer 10 tricks.  Maybe, if you feel 
   like a little deception, you can discard a nonchalant 3♥ so 
   that declarer won’t think you have the Q♥. 
 
SLIDE 35/36  You are declarer here and you seem to be in a very easy  
   contract.  After winning the first heart you should not go 
   after clubs immediately.  If you do, you will have to cash all 
   7 rounds and you will have an impossible discard problem 
   when reducing to 5 cards only.  At trick 2 you should play 
   the K♦ to establish your 9th trick.  If the defence then switch 
   to clubs (best), you can overtake but you have 9 tricks now. 
 
SLIDE 37/38  If you guess the diamond Queen and find the spade finesse 
   right, you may have 7 tricks.  But on the 4th and 5th hearts 
   you must discard safely.  You can afford one club from  
   hand but must throw a diamond (keeping 4 in dummy).   
   However, if you discard the 2♦, then the suit is blocked – so 
   you should discard the J♦ or 10♦.  Then finesses in  
   diamonds and spades will get you 7 tricks. 
 
SLIDE 39/40/41 You can count 9 tricks for declarer (5♥, 2♦ and 2♣).  Your 
   partner’s 8♦ should give you count in the suit (it looked like 
   declarer had a singleton K anyway by their early play if a 
   diamond to the K♦).  The danger here is that declarer will 
   discover the bad break in clubs and recover by being able 
   to throw you in with the 2nd club to lead into dummy’s K9.  
   To prevent this, you must keep your third spade and  
   discard a diamond.  Then the endplay won’t work because 
   you will have a spade to exit with. 
 
SLIDE 42  Can South make their 2♠ contract after the J♥ lead?  West 
   wins the A♦ at trick 2 and plays a second heart which East 
   wins, cashes a 3rd heart and then leads a 4th round.  West 
   can discard both clubs! 
 

(a) If declarer ruffs with the 6♠ and runs the J♠, East wins 
with the A♠ and gives West a club ruff.  The Q♠ can be 
picked up but declarer has to lose the 4th round of 
diamonds to the 10♦.  

(b) If declarer discards the 6♦ and ruffs in hand, then West 
can get a club ruff and the defence must also make a 
further two trump tricks. 

(c) The winning play is for declarer to discard the A♣ from 
dummy on the 4th heart.  Now declarer can ruff the 4th 
diamond in dummy and just lose two trump tricks 
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